Miami Nation

The Miami Tribe of Oklahoma is a federally recognized Native American Nation. The tribe was originally located in the Great Lakes region, in what is now Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio.

The Miami Nation was composed of four tribes: the Miami, Peoria, Wea, and Piankeshaw. The Miami Tribe of Indiana was the largest and most powerful of the four tribes.

They were a semi-nomadic people who lived in villages and traveled seasonally to hunt, fish, and trade. As part of the Indian Removal Act of 1830, The tribe was relocated to Indian Territory (now Oklahoma), where they re-established themselves.

is descended from the Miami Tribe of Indiana, which was one of the four tribes of the Miami Nation that were removed from their homelands in the Great Lakes region of the United States and forcibly relocated to Indian Territory (now Oklahoma) in the 19th century.

The Miami Nation has since maintained its identity and culture, and today is a federally recognized tribe with over 4,000 enrolled members. The tribe is headquartered in Miami, Oklahoma, and their tribal jurisdictional area covers Ottawa and Craig counties in Oklahoma.